RadioDJ - Free Radio Automation Software Forum

RadioDJ v2 => General Talking => Topic started by: Rob Ashcroft on March 06, 2018, 09:11:20 AM

Title: Outside broadcast link to studio
Post by: Rob Ashcroft on March 06, 2018, 09:11:20 AM
So I think I've managed to get a working setup for our school students to be able to do a 'Live O.B.'.  Final test this week, really just to see what, if any, delay there may be between field and studio interactions.
(note, this particular setup requires a Mac computer out in the field to use Quicktime Broadcaster.  The receiving studio can be either Mac or PC.  There are other Windows alternatives to Quicktime Broadcaster I'm sure.)

(https://drive.google.com/thumbnail?id=12GSJstZzX3om5kjSHpmwBGE9mh4Eq9WJ&sz=w1000-h500)
Title: Re: Outside broadcast link to studio
Post by: znmd on March 16, 2018, 08:07:16 PM
We're using Viocemeter Banana with VBAN protocol. In fact, according to official documentation this feature is designed for local area network but works on our VPN as well.
Title: Re: Outside broadcast link to studio
Post by: Rob Ashcroft on March 17, 2018, 07:33:50 PM
We're using Viocemeter Banana with VBAN protocol. In fact, according to official documentation this feature is designed for local area network but works on our VPN as well.

Yes, I'll need to look more closely at how this works.  I think it could be a good solution.

What kind of delay to you get?  Does it increase lag increase over time?

In the meantime, I've actually gone to re-purposing a wireless microphone transmitter/receiver for an event we have coming up. :-)
Title: Re: Outside broadcast link to studio
Post by: Copper007 on March 26, 2018, 12:15:57 AM
Ever tried RemAud? http://df3cb.com/remaud/ (http://df3cb.com/remaud/)

Low latency, we use it for temp locations, like newsreports, festival, events etc.....

grtz, Krid  8)
Title: Re: Outside broadcast link to studio
Post by: Rob Ashcroft on March 26, 2018, 10:08:00 AM
Ever tried RemAud? http://df3cb.com/remaud/ (http://df3cb.com/remaud/)

Low latency, we use it for temp locations, like newsreports, festival, events etc.....

grtz, Krid  8)

Thanks, will look into it.  My only limitation at the moment is that we have Windows in studio, but our only laptop is OSX (or alternatively ChromeBooks) but not Windows for the remote location.