RadioDJ - Free Radio Automation Software Forum

RadioDJ v2 => General Talking => Topic started by: DJ Garybaldy on October 04, 2019, 02:07:50 PM

Title: Audio issue we can't solve (Not RadioDJ)
Post by: DJ Garybaldy on October 04, 2019, 02:07:50 PM
Right I'm hoping some of you audio tech guys can help here.

We have 2 Computers connected to our sound system via cables both going into the back via a double connector.

Now here's the Issue: When 1 PC is on the audio is loud but as soon as the second computer boots it drops the volume by a good 50%

Does anyone know of a way to stop this happening we're using RCA connectors red/white plugs. We tried a pre-amp but that only made the music distorted.

Anyone have a suggestion of any hardware/cables etc that might help solve this issue. I told you it wasn't RDJ related but in some ways it is. Don't want to pump the volume up on the soundstage as that would only damage it.
Title: Re: Audio issue we can't solve (Not RadioDJ)
Post by: ricky on October 04, 2019, 05:26:00 PM
hi gary it sounds like a earthing problem to me you can trye using ether a balun to feed through or a capacitor on the live tip also is ther a way you can feed with only one earth ie 4 tips 1 outer ?????
i use a matching transformer on the radio dater stuff i do hear that may help this sort of thing
https://www.ndblist.info/datamodes/interfacingv2.pdf
Title: Re: Audio issue we can't solve (Not RadioDJ)
Post by: mebo870 on October 05, 2019, 05:46:16 PM
It looks more like an impedance problem.
example 100 Ω + 100 Ω in parallel, results in 50 Ω
Title: Re: Audio issue we can't solve (Not RadioDJ)
Post by: FreerunMedia on October 10, 2019, 11:17:21 AM
One way to do this right. Just use a mixer. Hooking up 2 audio sources to 1 input is asking for problems. Both outputs drop down in impendance and a lower volume is created. Also when the first one is playing audio at 100%, you send 1.5 volts into the output of the second computer. That is damiging the output on any play source.

Hook up a mixer, connect the 2 computers to 2 faders. Hook up the output of the mixer to whatever you need and you are safe. But don't waste any time on this unless you want to buy a new audio board or new PC every 2 months!

So not RadioDJ related.  :hihi:
Title: Re: Audio issue we can't solve (Not RadioDJ)
Post by: DJ Garybaldy on October 10, 2019, 11:57:48 AM
Just ordered an RCA switching unit. That should solve all our issues.


We don't have the right leads for the Mixer which has only ever been used once I bought it 5 years ago its been collecting dust in its box all this time.
 
Title: Re: Audio issue we can't solve (Not RadioDJ)
Post by: DJ Garybaldy on October 11, 2019, 04:18:44 PM
Solved the switch unit arrived today which was rather quick.

Thanks for the help.