RadioDJ - Free Radio Automation Software Forum

RadioDJ v2 => General Talking => Topic started by: mpxwebradio on February 15, 2020, 12:43:42 AM

Title: Changing from Jazler RadioStar 2 to RadioDJ
Post by: mpxwebradio on February 15, 2020, 12:43:42 AM
Hello people from RadioDJ forum, I'm user of Jazler Radio Star 2 automation. I've decided to stop with that software and go with something freeware like RadioDJ. My database is huge and i will have lot of time to change everything to RadioDJ Database. My streaming software is Z/IPStream and i think it have builtin RadioDJ XML support. I think RadioDJ is the correct option to my station, I've seen a lot of people using it and very good reviews from Pro's.
It's possible to run one database for two different stations? I'm very excited to test it, And if it's possible it will be veeery cool. It's not much easy to keep two different databases running at same time.
Title: Re: Changing from Jazler RadioStar 2 to RadioDJ
Post by: plauri on February 15, 2020, 04:30:52 AM
Hello Junior, welcome to the forum  :cool:
Yes, you can run just one db (if you are starting from scratch you'd better use MariaDB, much easier to install and reliable).
You can install two Radiodj on the same pc, each one in a different directory (different name). When you load your song into radiodj you import them according to the genre (hit and dance, for example). When you build your rotation in one radiodj you load a rotation selecting hit tracks in one station and in the other dance tracks. Following this example you can do many more things. Playing with pipelines (1-2 and 3-4) you send the music to BAO or (if I remember) with Z/IPStream you need only one different pipeline for each stream.       
Title: Re: Changing from Jazler RadioStar 2 to RadioDJ
Post by: DJ Garybaldy on February 15, 2020, 11:27:29 AM
Goodness me there's a piece of software I haven't heard the name of in a while. I think used it briefly 2008/9 time

Its a lot easier to run two radio streams with RadioDJ the databases are a lot more robust and don't go wrong that often and even if they do its a simple case of running a repair.

Make sure Each copy of RDJ has its own virtual cable and then feed that into a standalone encoder (https://djgarybaldy.co.uk/stand-alone-encoding-software/)

Once you have your database setup and configured don't forget to set daily backups with the database setup tool.

Title: Re: Changing from Jazler RadioStar 2 to RadioDJ
Post by: FreerunMedia on February 17, 2020, 11:09:36 AM
Hello people from RadioDJ forum, I'm user of Jazler Radio Star 2 automation. I've decided to stop with that software and go with something freeware like RadioDJ. My database is huge and i will have lot of time to change everything to RadioDJ Database. My streaming software is Z/IPStream and i think it have builtin RadioDJ XML support. I think RadioDJ is the correct option to my station, I've seen a lot of people using it and very good reviews from Pro's.
It's possible to run one database for two different stations? I'm very excited to test it, And if it's possible it will be veeery cool. It's not much easy to keep two different databases running at same time.

I am running 4 editions of RadioDJ ( v1.8.2 ) with MariaDB on one computer running in the same database each with it's own DBase entry. All media can be placed in one folder on one drive and that works like a charm. The 4 editions computer is running for at least 1 year with no problems. So in short, yes is possible and works but take MariaDB. MySQL i hear lot's of problems with it.
Title: Re: Changing from Jazler RadioStar 2 to RadioDJ
Post by: mpxwebradio on February 18, 2020, 07:21:48 PM
Hello people. No, I'm not running standalone encoders on the playout machines. i have Axia Livewire IP Drivers that sends the audio to my Z/IPStream Omnia.9 processing cores on a separate dedicated machine. I see Z/IPStream features RadioDJ metadata source, It's easy to set it up?
Title: Re: Changing from Jazler RadioStar 2 to RadioDJ
Post by: plauri on February 19, 2020, 12:15:24 AM
Hello people. No, I'm not running standalone encoders on the playout machines. i have Axia Livewire IP Drivers that sends the audio to my Z/IPStream Omnia.9 processing cores on a separate dedicated machine. I see Z/IPStream features RadioDJ metadata source, It's easy to set it up?

In NowPlaying info put into URL "127.0.0.1:7380" and Custom Data "/parameter/pgm_0/enc/stream_metadata=$autotitle$ ($year$)", Export Method: GET, enable and save. It should work!
Title: Re: Changing from Jazler RadioStar 2 to RadioDJ
Post by: mpxwebradio on February 21, 2020, 02:42:04 AM
In NowPlaying info put into URL "127.0.0.1:7380" and Custom Data "/parameter/pgm_0/enc/stream_metadata=$autotitle$ ($year$)", Export Method: GET, enable and save. It should work!

It's not that simple. Z/IPStream doesn't uses Omnia.9 or BreakawayOne HTTP Server, It have some type of Metadata Filters, I see "RadioDJ" under the metadata filter selection, Let's see if i can put that working on-air. It was a pain in the ass to make Jazler push metadata to Z/IPStream by using WatchFile2TCP from Telos, If i can't use the builtin radioDJ now-playing utility i will keep with WatchFile2TCP pushing nowplaying.txt to the Z/IPStream.
Title: Re: Changing from Jazler RadioStar 2 to RadioDJ
Post by: plauri on February 22, 2020, 02:24:41 AM
It's not that simple. Z/IPStream doesn't uses Omnia.9 or BreakawayOne HTTP Server.

I used for 15 days a Z/IPStream 9/X2 demo and that string worked like a charm.