RadioDJ - Free Radio Automation Software Forum

RadioDJ v1.7+ => v1.7+ - Support Forum => Topic started by: Pegbars on November 13, 2014, 03:49:56 AM

Title: Why does loading the News mp3 cause RDJ 1.7.5 to send CPU high?
Post by: Pegbars on November 13, 2014, 03:49:56 AM
As the late Paul Harvey would say, "Here's a strange..." 

While loading events, playlists, etc., RDJ 1.7.5 on my computer never gets above 30-40% CPU usage.  Most of the time, it hovers around 11-14%.  Tonight, I noticed RDJ is suddenly sending the CPU to 100% while loading the mp3 file for the news.  This continues for 5-6 seconds until the file appears at the top of the playlist.  Once it's on the playlist, however, it plays and sounds fine... but loading it causes the program to hang which makes the audio output hiccup or blank out entirely. 

I'm loading the file exactly the same way I always have - with an event.  The news is an mp3 which is downloaded by a podcatcher and sent to a directory.  The file is never the same name (the date and time are in the filename, making each one unique).  So, in Track Editor, I have the path set to the directory this news file is in... Category is set to News... Sub-Category is Hourly News...  Track Type is Newest from Folder.  In the Event which calls this file, I have "Load Track From Category" (News - Hourly News), and set to "Least Recently Played".

None of the other files, sounders, IDs, rotations, etc. that I load with events does this.  I've even tried relocating the news directory to another drive but the behavior is the same.  It runs the CPU to the max.

Any ideas what could be going on, or is this a bug in the new version?

Title: Re: Why does loading the News mp3 cause RDJ 1.7.5 to send CPU high?
Post by: elsilva0 on November 13, 2014, 05:34:40 AM
First, thank you vry much man, you just say me the way to do one thing i wanted.

You just answer my question of this topic: http://www.radiodj.ro/community/index.php?topic=6147.0 (http://www.radiodj.ro/community/index.php?topic=6147.0)

You sugested me to a thing i was forgetin bout radiodj, the "Newest from Folder"

And mi idea for ur case is...

Maybe your hard disks are with no enougth space, and ur cpu is going to max.

Are ur hard disks with enough disk space? i read the word u wrote
Quote
The news is an mp3 which is downloaded by a podcatcher and sent to a directory.  The file is never the same name (the date and time are in the filename, making each one unique).

Maybe ur hd is getinf full space used and it making CPU forces to run rdj :( .

Issue like that is hapenin to me too, my radiodj somethimes, almost everytime events come or even other track/jingle plays gets slowly kiccut or blanl out too. I thinkin it can be made by only 4 ram or core 2 duo processor i have, anywya... maybe u have a disk space issue.

Why dont u try to take the old files out of ur hard disk or at least take it out of the directory the new files are being put?
Title: Re: Why does loading the News mp3 cause RDJ 1.7.5 to send CPU high?
Post by: Pegbars on November 13, 2014, 06:54:29 AM
Thank you, elsilva.   :)  I have plenty of drives and space on them both.  They're not even half full.  I keep RDJ on the C: drive, and all the content on the D: drive.  I did try moving the news directory, but no change... the problem is still there.  And the news file is the only file that is giving me this problem.

But I'm glad I helped you think of something for your situation.   :ok:

Title: Re: Why does loading the News mp3 cause RDJ 1.7.5 to send CPU high?
Post by: TQ on November 13, 2014, 10:24:07 AM
Hi Pegbars,

If you don't use it already, you might like to download and install Process Explorer (http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/bb896653). I have found it to be an invaluable tool over many years when analysing problems on both workstations and servers. It will allow you to find historical data about CPU usage by hovering over the system information - CPU chart (double click the very small chart near the top of the window). I run it continuously in the background using CPU, I/O and physical memory indicators in the tray to monitor the health of my machine at a glance.

My thinking is that it may not be RDJ per se but some other process that is causing the problem.

You may also want to check out the DPC Latency Checker (http://www.thesycon.de/eng/latency_check.shtml). I had a problem some months ago on my studio PC that caused a similar problem. In this particular case it was me messin' with the some encoder setting which upset the relationship between RDJ and the Icecast server. I learnt from this that I should shut down RDJ then restarted the Icecast service then restart RDJ to return everything to normal.

Hope this is of help.

TQ

Title: Re: Why does loading the News mp3 cause RDJ 1.7.5 to send CPU high?
Post by: Pegbars on November 13, 2014, 04:09:19 PM
Yes, thank you very much, TQ.  I will try those.  Much appreciative!   ;)  The latency checker looks very interesting, I've never used that before.

Title: Re: Why does loading the News mp3 cause RDJ 1.7.5 to send CPU high?
Post by: Marius on November 13, 2014, 04:17:40 PM
I am curious about the size of the file. If it is a large file i would try to remove the high precision cue points option (from track properties). That should speed up the loading process.
Title: Re: Why does loading the News mp3 cause RDJ 1.7.5 to send CPU high?
Post by: Pegbars on November 13, 2014, 04:23:17 PM
Thanks, Marius!  I tried that and it didn't seem to make a difference.  I'll run the tests and report back my findings.
 :)
Title: Re: Why does loading the News mp3 cause RDJ 1.7.5 to send CPU high?
Post by: Pegbars on November 13, 2014, 04:43:00 PM
The file itself is only 2.5MB.

Title: Re: Why does loading the News mp3 cause RDJ 1.7.5 to send CPU high?
Post by: elsilva0 on November 13, 2014, 07:58:16 PM
Quote
Quote
I did try moving the news directory, but no change... the problem is still there.

You said u deleted, but did u delet these old news track in radiodj? track manager, select them and right click, delete selected tracks, Did u try it?

Maybe it is being loaded by radiodj even not being in directory imported to radiodj, maybe radiodj only are finding the new news track.


Quote
My thinking is that it may not be RDJ per se but some other process that is causing the problem.
TQ, I also thinkin this way.
Quote
In this particular case it was me messin' with the some encoder setting which upset the relationship between RDJ and the Icecast server. I learnt from this that I should shut down RDJ then restarted the Icecast service then restart RDJ to return everything to normal.
TQ, r u talking bout restarting icecast/shoutcast web service or the some encoder pugin? i guess u talkin bout the first.

 


Title: Re: Why does loading the News mp3 cause RDJ 1.7.5 to send CPU high?
Post by: TQ on November 13, 2014, 09:31:29 PM
TQ, I also thinkin this way.TQ, r u talking bout restarting icecast/shoutcast web service or the some encoder pugin? i guess u talkin bout the first.

Hi elsilva0,

I run the Icecast server locally so, as I said before, Stop RDJ, restart Icecast Server then restart RDJ.

TQ
Title: Re: Why does loading the News mp3 cause RDJ 1.7.5 to send CPU high?
Post by: Pegbars on November 13, 2014, 09:38:27 PM
elsilva... the old files are deleted daily by my podcatcher.  Thank you.  :)

TQ and Marius... the latency checker helped me find the issue!!  My wireless adapter card and the onboard sound card are causing the conflicts.  I have a PCI soundcard, but I've also been using the onboard to send audio to my transmitter from the output of Stereo Tool.  Unfortnately, I need the wireless connection to download the news...  but I've disabled the onboard sound for now until I can find another solution. 

Maybe a USB card or VAC?  I'm just curious as to why the problem is manifesting itself now, when it wasn't a problem before.

Thanks everyone for your good help!   :ok:  ;D

Title: Re: Why does loading the News mp3 cause RDJ 1.7.5 to send CPU high?
Post by: elsilva0 on November 13, 2014, 10:30:54 PM
Quote
Maybe a USB card or VAC?
I use two sound cards in my on air pc, i used only one usb sound card, but i had a problem with the onboard and then now im using two. maybe because of this a am havin seem isue, but in less level, I hav that cheap usb 3d sound cards.


Quote
I'm just curious as to why the problem is manifesting itself now, when it wasn't a problem before.

I noticed u r solved the issue but only a half once u not sure why this issue only now.

hehehe good luck for us :)


I ve got other sugestion to know why is this issue only now...

Had you or ur podcatcher change any event aaround the news? anything?
Title: Re: Why does loading the News mp3 cause RDJ 1.7.5 to send CPU high?
Post by: Pegbars on November 14, 2014, 10:10:59 AM
No, the events are identical.

Title: Re: Why does loading the News mp3 cause RDJ 1.7.5 to send CPU high?
Post by: TQ on November 14, 2014, 10:53:12 AM
TQ and Marius... the latency checker helped me find the issue!!  My wireless adapter card and the onboard sound card are causing the conflicts.  I have a PCI soundcard, but I've also been using the onboard to send audio to my transmitter from the output of Stereo Tool.  Unfortunately, I need the wireless connection to download the news...  but I've disabled the onboard sound for now until I can find another solution.

It sounds like a IRQ (sharing) issue, assuming you are using the latest drivers for both of the offending devices you might want to check if there is an updated BIOS that you can flash to your motherboard. If there are driver updates, removing the old drivers, rebooting then reinstalling may well reassign the IRQ's in a more friendly fashion.

This article may of interest (http://helpdeskgeek.com/windows-vista-tips/manage-irq-settings-windows-vista-7/), from past experience I know that IRQ issues can kill a machine turning a Ferrari into a Larda :)

TQ
Title: Re: Why does loading the News mp3 cause RDJ 1.7.5 to send CPU high?
Post by: ncborges on November 14, 2014, 12:45:10 PM
Where do I find version 1.7.5 for download? People posting some problems with this version but I can't find any link for download it here on RDJ website.
Regards
Newton
Title: Re: Why does loading the News mp3 cause RDJ 1.7.5 to send CPU high?
Post by: TQ on November 14, 2014, 12:50:45 PM
Where do I find version 1.7.5 for download? People posting some problems with this version but I can't find any link for download it here on RDJ website.
Install 1.7.4 the use the RDJ database setup tool. Click the 'Update' tab then check for updates.

Problem solved

TQ
Title: Re: Why does loading the News mp3 cause RDJ 1.7.5 to send CPU high?
Post by: Jhonny on November 14, 2014, 01:01:14 PM
Where do I find version 1.7.5 for download? People posting some problems with this version but I can't find any link for download it here on RDJ website.
Regards
Newton

Close rdj start autoupdate.exe in the root of rdj.
done, start rdj

Jh.
Title: Re: Why does loading the News mp3 cause RDJ 1.7.5 to send CPU high?
Post by: ncborges on November 14, 2014, 07:11:02 PM
Close rdj start autoupdate.exe in the root of rdj.
done, start rdj

Jh.

Thanks so much Jhonny.
Title: Re: Why does loading the News mp3 cause RDJ 1.7.5 to send CPU high?
Post by: Pegbars on November 17, 2014, 12:12:31 AM
It sounds like a IRQ (sharing) issue, assuming you are using the latest drivers for both of the offending devices

Thank you again, TQ!  Some great info there.  I will check this area.  I already have latest drivers available, but the computer is getting old-ish, so new drivers haven't been made for several years.  I'm also keeping my eyes open for a newer (used) computer.  I have a nice new multi-core machine here, but I use it for work, so I'm using the older ones for dedicated radio service.

Title: Re: Why does loading the News mp3 cause RDJ 1.7.5 to send CPU high?
Post by: Pegbars on November 17, 2014, 03:39:35 AM
Hummm...

I'm not getting any yellow exclamation marks, and it says there are no conflicts... although why is my Soundblaster card and an IDE controller on the same IRQ?  (Btw, the box to change IRQs is grayed out, so it won't let me change it anyway.)


[attachment deleted by admin]
Title: Re: Why does loading the News mp3 cause RDJ 1.7.5 to send CPU high?
Post by: Pegbars on November 17, 2014, 06:39:05 AM
UPDATE:

I temporarily ran RDJ v.1.6.5.7 using my currently-installed database, and the high CPU usage problem DOES NOT exist with it  My news file loads and plays perfectly.

Something in the later version(s) is causing more resources to be used when dealing with "Newest from Folder" track types.  I guess my computer is marginal enough for me to notice the difference.

Title: Re: Why does loading the News mp3 cause RDJ 1.7.5 to send CPU high?
Post by: TQ on November 17, 2014, 09:53:01 AM
I'm not getting any yellow exclamation marks, and it says there are no conflicts... a
Quote
My wireless adapter card and the onboard sound card are causing the conflicts.

IRQ sharing is not a conflict so don't expect a yellow exclamation mark, it just means that 2 processes share the same interrupt. A simple analogy is human multi-tasking, if you are riding a bike and eating an ice cream your mind is shared reasonably equally between the two tasks. If then the ice starts melting rapidly and simultaneously a pedestrian walk into you path, you brain goes into overtime.

If your conflict is between say the WiFi card and your hard drive (only applies if you HD is not using direct DMA) or other essential part of your system, there will be a lag while it sorts itself out.

Mindful that IRQ's may not be your issue, have you installed process explorer. This will show where the pressure is being applied.

As far as versions of RDJ are concerned, new tables and/or columns were added between the two versions you mention.

If there is an issue there then that may have something to do with your problem. AndyDeGroo is much better placed than I am to help you with that but again, process explorer should give you some pointers.

TQ

Title: Re: Why does loading the News mp3 cause RDJ 1.7.5 to send CPU high?
Post by: Pegbars on November 17, 2014, 01:06:30 PM
I understand.  I will try running Process Explorer.  I have it on my machine from an earlier issue, but I couldn't be sure what I was looking at or exactly what it was telling me... although, I can Google that.

That's a good analogy about riding the bike, by the way. 

Title: Re: Why does loading the News mp3 cause RDJ 1.7.5 to send CPU high?
Post by: AndyDeGroo on November 17, 2014, 05:42:28 PM
I've been following this thread but couldn't see how I could contribute. Now that I've been summoned by TQ, would be about the right time to join this conversation.

I can only add my acknowledgement to the Sysinternals Process Explores suggestion.
You might also find Microsoft (formerly Sysinternals) Process Monitor useful for determining what exactly a program does. Just use its filters and include only RadioDJ.exe as process name. Then try to run the problematic event in RadioDJ and see which actions take the most time. Note that you shouldn't be running Process Monitor for extended time as it can consume considerable amount of system resources. To stop monitoring, just click the magnifying glass icon in upper left and Process Monitor will stop recording events. After capturing what you needed, you can filter out irrelevant events and highlight those that you are interested in. I suggest you start by highlighting the path of the news directory and scan thought all events until you find the highlighted ones.
Also, you might have to hide unnecessary groups of events by deselecting some icons form the group of buttons on the right side of toolbar.

Uh, I hope that it makes sense.

I have an itch to ask one question: How many files do you have in the directory you specified in path/URL field for the "Newest From Folder" tracks?
If there are many files, like over few hundred, that might be the most likely cause of this issue.

Yes, the bicycle analogy is one of the best analogies for describing computer related concept I've seen.
I also have to rely on analogies in my work with clients. Perhaps my most overused analogy is comparing development of a web site to building a house, when a potential client asks how much a typical web site would cost.
Title: Re: Why does loading the News mp3 cause RDJ 1.7.5 to send CPU high?
Post by: Pegbars on November 17, 2014, 07:28:04 PM
I sincerely appreciate all the good help, gents!  Andy, I started with three files in the news directory, then tried just one.  When running at full bore, there are never more than 24 files in the directory since the podcaster (Juice) deletes files more than a day old.