RadioDJ - Free Radio Automation Software Forum

RadioDJ v1.7+ => v1.7+ - Support Forum => Topic started by: Freedom Rock Radio on September 18, 2016, 03:36:50 PM

Title: software not responding
Post by: Freedom Rock Radio on September 18, 2016, 03:36:50 PM
Hello,

I have problems for the last hour or so... the software is not responding for 21 seconds, refreshes for a brief moment, and freezes again.  So there are gaps between songs in auto-dj, and I can't do anything else.

I never had problems like that, and used the software since march.  It's very weird.  My operating system is Windows 10 since late june, and everything was going smoothly before an hour ago.

Anybody had a similar problem?
Title: Re: software not responding
Post by: Marius on September 18, 2016, 04:06:38 PM
Some possible causes are windows updating in the background and using too many resources, an antivirus program scanning...
Pres control+alt+delete to see the processor and disk usage and if there is a process which is using too many resources.

It happened to me once to have a non responding computer while windows was updating, but in that case i couldn't use any program normally, not only rdj.
Title: Re: software not responding
Post by: Freedom Rock Radio on September 18, 2016, 05:03:27 PM
Hello Marius, thank you for responding.

Something called "system and compressed memory"  (sorry, my OS is in french), that takes around 290 Mb of memory (not the processor per say).

All my other applications work normally.


***EDIT***   Everything is back in order now, but I still don't kow why it bugged a couple of hours ago.
Title: Re: software not responding
Post by: DJ Garybaldy on September 18, 2016, 07:46:14 PM
Have you tried cleaning out Temp files and repairing the registry with a program such as CCleaner (https://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/download)

I find if the temp files etc... are huge it can cause everything else to crawl. It may also be a good idea to do a defrag as well.

I swear by CCleaner.
Title: Re: software not responding
Post by: Marius on September 18, 2016, 08:03:59 PM
I forgot to ask, do you stream using a encoder plugin, or using a separate encoder?
Title: Re: software not responding
Post by: FreerunMedia on September 19, 2016, 12:53:50 PM
I would sugest to the anti virus and CC cleaners and so on if the computer is only used for radio dj playout. If you use the same computer for internet use and download and so on, let all the anti virus as it is. Windows 10 has a couple of issues and for were those the reason not to upgrade to windows 10. In one test case it removed the database and another time RadioDJ was missing a plugin and so on. Sometimes it looks like when Windows 10 find something that is old or not downloaded enough  ( yes for real and no joke ) , it deletes or lock the file.

Title: Re: software not responding
Post by: Freedom Rock Radio on September 20, 2016, 02:58:12 AM
Hello,

I tried Ccleaner, restarted, defraged, restarted...  the problem came back, and is still ongoing....  :angry:

Marius, I have []installed in RDJ (like it says on this site).

I'm wondering if it's Windows 10 and one of their damn updates.
Title: Re: software not responding
Post by: DJ Garybaldy on September 20, 2016, 07:24:25 AM
Quote
Marius, I have [] installed in RDJ (like it says on this site).

Its likely to be the [] plugin that is causing things to freeze  either switch to a standalone (http://djgarybaldy.co.uk/stand-alone-encoding-software/) piece of encoding software OR use the RadioDJ streamer plugin (http://djgarybaldy.co.uk/radiodj-streaming-plugin/) written by Marius.

[] was known to freeze things if there was the slightest problem between you and the streaming server.

Plus [] isn't supported on these forums anymore.
Title: Re: software not responding
Post by: Capt_Fuzzy on September 20, 2016, 03:43:36 PM
I, personally, use [] Standalone and have had little to no issues with it, so the choice is really up to you what you want to go with.
As mentioned, [] is not supported here, but for what it's worth, it's really no harder or easier to setup than any other encoder that I've used.
Title: Re: software not responding
Post by: Marius on September 20, 2016, 05:28:11 PM
Sorry, but i had to remove the name of the program.  :'(
Title: Re: software not responding
Post by: Capt_Fuzzy on September 20, 2016, 07:28:31 PM
Sorry, but i had to remove the name of the program.  :'(
Oh? Is it taboo to mention it now?  :hihi:
Title: Re: software not responding
Post by: DJ Garybaldy on September 20, 2016, 07:52:41 PM
I guess it is... Does the same also apply to ED***T?
Title: Re: software not responding
Post by: Freedom Rock Radio on September 20, 2016, 11:50:18 PM
Its likely to be the [] plugin that is causing things to freeze  either switch to a standalone (http://djgarybaldy.co.uk/stand-alone-encoding-software/) piece of encoding software OR use the RadioDJ streamer plugin (http://djgarybaldy.co.uk/radiodj-streaming-plugin/) written by Marius.

[] was known to freeze things if there was the slightest problem between you and the streaming server.

Plus [] isn't supported on these forums anymore.

Looks like you're right!  When I stop the [lol] plugin, the software stops freezing...
So I installed the RDJ streamer plugin (thanks Marius), and it sounds like I'm back on the air.

Thanks Gary!   :cool:

Title: Re: software not responding
Post by: Freedom Rock Radio on September 21, 2016, 01:21:00 PM
EDIT:  Well, guess again...after 6 hours of good work, the same problems returned.
Could it be the server provider?
Title: Re: software not responding
Post by: DJ Garybaldy on September 21, 2016, 02:09:26 PM
EDIT:  Well, guess again...after 6 hours of good work, the same problems returned.
Could it be the server provider?

It could be your ISP throttling your connection or the server host having issues. There are lots of external factors that could be causing issues.

Have you tried one of the standalone programs? Having a separate encoder program frees up RadioDJ to automate.

It might also be a good idea to speak with your ISP just in case they've been having issues etc...  some home broadband connections aren't suitable for streaming. They might want to put you on a different package.
Title: Re: software not responding
Post by: Valdis on September 21, 2016, 10:29:12 PM
Something called "system and compressed memory"  (sorry, my OS is in french), that takes around 290 Mb of memory (not the processor per say).
System and compressed memory is the system process itself (Windows kernel - ntoskrnl.exe) and memory compression subprocess can consume CPU if your system is running low on physical memory (the RAM).
Title: Re: software not responding
Post by: cliffc on September 25, 2016, 01:36:02 PM
Hi

I have also been getting these issues seems to have only started happening with the last update to win 10 but this may be a coincidence, I was using the [software name removed] encoder so I have switched to the encoder suggested here, I have not had these issues until recently, and I know its the encoder as if I turn off the encoder the program responds fine, and if delete and remove the encoder it works ok again, so this points to it not being an ISP issue, I have now tried using the winamp encoder instead of the lame one to see if this makes any difference.
Title: Re: software not responding
Post by: Freedom Rock Radio on November 20, 2016, 06:03:08 PM
So, it's all been good for a while, but I have a question about the "RadioDJ Streamer" standalone encoder (thanks again Marius and Gary)

How come the graphic in the "stats" thumbnail always stays between 0 and 5, even if I have 8 listeners?  (not many listeners, I know...  :D )




[attachment deleted by admin]
Title: Re: software not responding
Post by: DJAntares on November 22, 2016, 07:27:20 PM
I have followed all instructions listed here to resolve this problem but it continues in all computers (2x win10 1607).  :-[
I have disinstalled all that win10 can permit me to do but the problem isn't solved. RDJ freezes when all times it loads a track, specially in the first load. Pressing CTRL+Alt+Canc, in the Task Manager i saw that RDJ take very few cpu and memory resource BUT...  :huh:
pressing right button on it and going to Wait Chain Traversal i saw the RDJ has many threads open ??? how reports the attached picture.
I can killed them to cancel pauses but close so RDJ.  :'(
I am secure that this problem is a bug of RDJ with the last security updates on win10, in fact before RDJ works perfectally.
Unfortunately microsoft force to install ALL security updates on Win10 and don't allow to disinstall all precedents patch installed.
Dear Marius, please I pray you to resolve it soon as possible. Thank you :cool:

[attachment deleted by admin]
Title: Re: software not responding
Post by: DJAntares on November 22, 2016, 07:51:53 PM
Dear Marius, the security update of win10 are KB3199928 and KB3199209. Thanks very much  :)
Title: Re: software not responding
Post by: Marius on November 22, 2016, 09:41:11 PM
KB3199928 doesn't seems to exists, maybe you wrote it incorrectly?
KB3199209 is related to a lot of problems on MS forums (https://www.google.ro/search?q=KB3199209+site:answers.microsoft.com&newwindow=1&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjd5JrBm73QAhWDkiwKHb0ZBh8QrQIILygEMAE&biw=1745&bih=864), and a comprehensive list over here (http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_10-update/problems-after-installing-kb3199209/12899bc8-8ba9-4912-af23-8efd7863f6ca). I haven't received yet this update, so i cannot see what is going on with it. Even so, if it affects so many applications as reported, is a problem with the update itself and not with the programs. Hopefully MS will fix this soon.
The updates service can be disabled from the services, so you will not be forced to be a guinea pig for them on your own production computer.  ;)
Title: Re: software not responding
Post by: FreerunMedia on November 23, 2016, 12:41:18 PM
Still i would sugest not going to Windows 10. It has too many issues and even one is one too many.

As for:
So, it's all been good for a while, but I have a question about the "RadioDJ Streamer" standalone encoder (thanks again Marius and Gary)

How come the graphic in the "stats" thumbnail always stays between 0 and 5, even if I have 8 listeners?  (not many listeners, I know...  :D )

I had the same problem and it has something to do with the streamer. Some of the data when you use shoutcast V2 doesn't come through. At some point we had 30 or so listeners according to the host, the streamer showed 0.
Title: Re: software not responding
Post by: DJ Garybaldy on November 23, 2016, 01:11:49 PM
Still i would sugest not going to Windows 10. It has too many issues and even one is one too many.

As for:
I had the same problem and it has something to do with the streamer. Some of the data when you use shoutcast V2 doesn't come through. At some point we had 30 or so listeners according to the host, the streamer showed 0.

We're having Zero issues with Windows 10 and RadioDJ so far...

I think the listener count is something that's changed on Shoutcast's end with newer versions of the DNAS If memory serves me right that issue is over a year old now. If you really need your listener counts then best advice I can give is switch to stand alone program such as Radiocaster.

Not sure if Marius intends to update the streamer plugin or not.
Title: Re: software not responding
Post by: Brodephat on November 23, 2016, 03:44:56 PM
Yes the listener count in Shoutcast V2 is not accessed the same way as it was in Shoutcast V1.

It would require making changes to the stream plugin.
Title: Re: software not responding
Post by: DJAntares on November 23, 2016, 06:59:31 PM
KB3199928 doesn't seems to exists, maybe you wrote it incorrectly?
KB3199209 is related to a lot of problems on MS forums (https://www.google.ro/search?q=KB3199209+site:answers.microsoft.com&newwindow=1&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjd5JrBm73QAhWDkiwKHb0ZBh8QrQIILygEMAE&biw=1745&bih=864), and a comprehensive list over here (http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_10-update/problems-after-installing-kb3199209/12899bc8-8ba9-4912-af23-8efd7863f6ca). I haven't received yet this update, so i cannot see what is going on with it. Even so, if it affects so many applications as reported, is a problem with the update itself and not with the programs. Hopefully MS will fix this soon.
The updates service can be disabled from the services, so you will not be forced to be a guinea pig for them on your own production computer.  ;)

Ehm... excuse me  :bash: the correct code of the first patch is KMB3199986

I'm sure that these problems are caused by the MS's patch, but I have serious doubts that will be correct quickly. I hope that I make a mistake...  ;)
Title: Re: software not responding
Post by: FreerunMedia on November 24, 2016, 11:39:27 AM
Ehm... excuse me  :bash: the correct code of the first patch is KMB3199986

I'm sure that these problems are caused by the MS's patch, but I have serious doubts that will be correct quickly. I hope that I make a mistake...  ;)

I think the pack is called KB3199986 and is a Servicing stack update for Windows 10 Version 1607: October 27, 2016.

I would sugest to delete each pack after 26-10. That way you know if it works again but to be honest, step back to Windows 7, that is working. Windows 10 is nice but brings more problems than goodness.
Title: Re: software not responding
Post by: DJAntares on November 24, 2016, 05:39:36 PM
I think the pack is called KB3199986 and is a Servicing stack update for Windows 10 Version 1607: October 27, 2016.

I would sugest to delete each pack after 26-10. That way you know if it works again but to be honest, step back to Windows 7, that is working. Windows 10 is nice but brings more problems than goodness.

I tried to do this operation but the problem remains. Unfortunaly, in all machines with win7 64bit i did the upgrade to win10  :'( but Win10 is the normal evolution of MS's OSs even if I use Amiga so in my studio and GNU/Linux in my work...
Talking of GNU/Linux... dear Marius but a porting of RDJ???  :D
Title: Re: software not responding
Post by: Capt_Fuzzy on November 24, 2016, 10:02:09 PM
This is a big part of the reason I never jump on the "big new thing" immediately...
There's always a few issues that have to be sorted out and worked through and let's face it, MS isn't the fastest company in the world when it comes to fixing things.
Title: Re: software not responding
Post by: DJAntares on November 26, 2016, 05:39:24 PM
This is a big part of the reason I never jump on the "big new thing" immediately...
There's always a few issues that have to be sorted out and worked through and let's face it, MS isn't the fastest company in the world when it comes to fixing things.

Ehm... Win 10 is released 29/07/2015 and RDJ and others software (Sony Acid, VSL Presonus and many more...) before last updates never has done any problems. The unique reason that I continue to use Windows is only for the software that require it, RDJ docet  :D
Title: Re: software not responding
Post by: DJAntares on December 01, 2016, 05:52:21 PM
Marius are there some good news? Please tell me yes...  :'( I would not format another time the machines to have the same problem after the automatic update
Title: Re: software not responding
Post by: theparty.fm on December 03, 2016, 02:18:44 AM
i too having similar issues, radio dj not responsive off and on, my pc is a beast, AMD Quad core 4.20 ghz, with 9gb ddr 3 ram, no programs running in background OS win 7 pro, x64  im only running radio dj, xkeys software that controls my programmable keyboard to send short cut keys to the pc, my encoder which is stand alone which i cant mention here, then radio dj, PC CPU use was 7% and only 2.5 gb used of ram and its off and on you click on a song to load it to the slot/deck and it hesitates and doesnt add it and then it will, or I will be loading an event then the event plays we are on air live on my mic, then i am in assist mode i come out of assist mode then it wont play for a minute.  I eventually works but is having problems.  This just started the last few days off and on.

Also worth mentioning, I cleaned temp files, pc is clean no antivirus software, we dont surf any sites except facebook and or news related sites, nothing gets downloaded to the pc. its just for air play,  then also im using maria db for the back end.

Any suggestions? Im about to backup and re-format which is a LONG process to get everything back to the way it was...  Im using 3 hard drives too, all SATA one is for the OS, the other 2 are 1TB in a raid for the music and audio... all on the same machine.

Im thinking to go to SSD for the audio for radio dj, then upgrade my ram to 16gb.

Any thoughts???
Title: Re: software not responding
Post by: DJ Garybaldy on December 03, 2016, 10:02:47 AM
Quote
i too having similar issues, radio dj not responsive off and on, my pc is a beast, AMD Quad core 4.20 ghz, with 9gb ddr 3 ram, no programs running in background OS win 7 pro, x64  im only running radio dj, xkeys software that controls my programmable keyboard to send short cut keys to the pc, my encoder which is stand alone which i cant mention here, then radio dj, PC CPU use was 7% and only 2.5 gb used of ram and its off and on you click on a song to load it to the slot/deck and it hesitates and doesnt add it and then it will, or I will be loading an event then the event plays we are on air live on my mic, then i am in assist mode i come out of assist mode then it wont play for a minute.  I eventually works but is having problems.  This just started the last few days off and on.

When we had a similar issue with RadioDJ not working as it should and it boiled down to a hardware/drive issue it could be hardware is failing/not functioning on your system.

You've said you cleaned the temp files etc... but have you defragged the drives lately? Also tell the antivirus software not to scan the RadioDJ folder.

I personally don't believe its a RadioDJ issue when things like that start happening.

P.S In future if you have a problem that needs diagnosing @thepartyfm can you start a fresh topic otherwise things get muddled really quickly! Thanks.
Title: Re: software not responding
Post by: DJAntares on December 06, 2016, 06:00:30 PM
When we had a similar issue with RadioDJ not working as it should and it boiled down to a hardware/drive issue it could be hardware is failing/not functioning on your system.

You've said you cleaned the temp files etc... but have you defragged the drives lately? Also tell the antivirus software not to scan the RadioDJ folder.

I personally don't believe its a RadioDJ issue when things like that start happening.

Hi Garybaldy, alla operation that you have elencated were made but this very bothersome problem remaining...