Author Topic: System requirements  (Read 2093 times)

Donell

  • New User

  • Offline
  • *
  • 7
System requirements
« on: April 13, 2018, 06:13:50 PM »
(RadioDJ isn’t resource intensive so will run on hardware with 1GHz CPU and 1GB RAM, but hopefully your system will have a bit more than that to ensure everything runs smoothly.)

If one instance of radiodj needs "1 GHz CPU and 1GB RAM"  then in order to run 10 instances would my vps need 10 GHz CPU and 10 GB RAM?

Someone please help me so I can compare hosting options properly Im not sure I know what to look for exactly

FreerunMedia

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 873
  • Personal Text
    Proud user of RadioDJ
    • Radio 251 , Gewoon gezellig
Re: System requirements
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2018, 11:15:52 AM »
The thing isn't that simple. You still need the OS to work and other things like database. I am running a bare RadioDJ v1.8.2 on a C2D 2,6ghz. It runs 4 editions of RadioDJ and it can run it but TOTH it will pop up to the 100% processor. Leave it running with no extra things like audio processing, incoming streams and outgoing streams, no live events and events at all for that matter, yes it might work. Now ask yourself the next question, why should you run 10 editions on one computer? If the computer shuts down or has some memory problems or HDD or SSD troubles, you loose all the editions at once.

My advice, it is better to run one very good station on one computer than 25 stations on one computer that plays the same songs in just a different order.
Running 3 editions V1.8.2 at www.salto.nl and v1.8.2 at radio251.nl. ( NOW with 2 live studio's! )

Donell

  • New User

  • Offline
  • *
  • 7
Re: System requirements
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2018, 04:48:50 PM »
But from a capability standpoint and merely speaking about capability- could I sign up for 10 separate VPS accounts each running its own instance of radiodj and it's associated encoders, database and virtual audio card?

DJ Garybaldy

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 4497
  • Personal Text
    Don't Shoot! I'm only the Moderator
    • DJ Garybaldy Blog
Re: System requirements
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2018, 10:18:52 AM »
I wouldn't run more than 4 copies of RadioDJ one the same machine. 10 copies would put a lot of strain on the CPU.

Dependent on the VPS RAM and CPU you would probably only be able to run 4 copies at a time on one of those.

I have to ask why 10 stations? Most I know anyone running is 4 stations at the same time. Even then I think they're split over 2 machines.

There is really only 1 way to find out  if a machine can handle lots of copies od RDJ running at once and that's to try it out on a machine with decent RAM and CPU but don't be surprised if the computer/VPS can't handle all those copies running at once  :bash: (Its all dependent of processing power)

Each instance will also require its own Virtual Audio Cable and its own database  Which will also take up more of the processing power.
Proud USER of RadioDJ since 2010

https://djgarybaldy.blogspot.com

How to Install RadioDJ: https://djgarybaldy.blogspot.com/2020/08/how-to-install-radiodj-free-radio.html

RadioDJ is the Swiss Army Knife of radio playout software

RadioDJ is my most FAVOURITE piece of software EVER

Donell

  • New User

  • Offline
  • *
  • 7
Re: System requirements
« Reply #4 on: April 27, 2018, 08:36:26 PM »
Ok I got some great input here. Some of centered on opinions of if I should start with that many stations but I would like to focus merely on tech specifications. (and yes I do want to compete with Spotify so the stations might not be considered radio stations)

But I counted 14 "stations" I need to get started with in order to have a diverse selection of stations.

So under this circumstances and strictly speaking tech specifications what "RAM and CPU" specs should my vps have to run 14 instances of radiodj with no probs without going overboard. (Thats radiodj ,databases, encoders, virtual audio card and all)

FreerunMedia

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 873
  • Personal Text
    Proud user of RadioDJ
    • Radio 251 , Gewoon gezellig
Re: System requirements
« Reply #5 on: April 28, 2018, 11:57:44 AM »
Ok I got some great input here. Some of centered on opinions of if I should start with that many stations but I would like to focus merely on tech specifications. (and yes I do want to compete with Spotify so the stations might not be considered radio stations)

But I counted 14 "stations" I need to get started with in order to have a diverse selection of stations.

So under this circumstances and strictly speaking tech specifications what "RAM and CPU" specs should my vps have to run 14 instances of radiodj with no probs without going overboard. (Thats radiodj ,databases, encoders, virtual audio card and all)

I don't think i understand what you realy want. You want to compete with Spotify :huh: wich is impossible. Spotify use something else than a radio playout to send the songs to the listener, a program and app made by them.

Running 14 editions of RadioDJ, you will need:
4 computers / servers  running 4 editions of RadioDJ, database and stream program.
Specs per pc or server: minimum Quad Core at 2,6gHz. Minimum 4 to 8 GB memory. Storage is depending what filetype you use and how many files you need to store. Compete with spotify? Think about 200TB!

The minimum specs i mention are based on a computer/server running RadioDJ with 4 audio cards or a multiple audio output board. Nothing virtual because that is realy asking for problems.
Running 3 editions V1.8.2 at www.salto.nl and v1.8.2 at radio251.nl. ( NOW with 2 live studio's! )

Donell

  • New User

  • Offline
  • *
  • 7
Re: System requirements
« Reply #6 on: April 28, 2018, 08:58:34 PM »
Virtual audio card on a vps won't work or been known to have flaws?

DJ Garybaldy

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 4497
  • Personal Text
    Don't Shoot! I'm only the Moderator
    • DJ Garybaldy Blog
Re: System requirements
« Reply #7 on: April 30, 2018, 09:55:31 AM »
Quote
But I counted 14 "stations" I need to get started with in order to have a diverse selection of stations.

I still think your going to run into major problems trying to run so many instances of RadioDJ on one VPS/Computer

As you've just said IF the Virtual Sound Card won't install on the VPS you'll not have much luck with what you want to do.

I think personally you should stick to maybe 2/3 stations making sure the programming is top notch on those stations before you try running more than 10 stations.

You'll burn yourself out trying to maintain all those stations believe me it was hard enough for me when running 2 instances as backup for other stations way back in v1.6.0

I know I say in blog posts that you can run more than one copy of RadioDJ BUT I think 14 is way too many

You'll never be able to compete against the big boys like Spotify, Amazon Music, iTunes/Apple Music.
Proud USER of RadioDJ since 2010

https://djgarybaldy.blogspot.com

How to Install RadioDJ: https://djgarybaldy.blogspot.com/2020/08/how-to-install-radiodj-free-radio.html

RadioDJ is the Swiss Army Knife of radio playout software

RadioDJ is my most FAVOURITE piece of software EVER

FreerunMedia

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 873
  • Personal Text
    Proud user of RadioDJ
    • Radio 251 , Gewoon gezellig
Re: System requirements
« Reply #8 on: May 01, 2018, 10:53:34 AM »
Virtual audio card on a vps won't work or been known to have flaws?

It's is know to not work or work for a short time ending with dead silence or even a crash. Think about what you can manage, not how much you can earn money providing a service you won't be able to handle. 14 stations is really a lot of work. It is not as easy as "dropping 20.000 files in a database and go". You need to update with new files and corrupt files need to be deleted and reworked. There is a reason why so many people work at Spotify.
Running 3 editions V1.8.2 at www.salto.nl and v1.8.2 at radio251.nl. ( NOW with 2 live studio's! )