Author Topic: background noise  (Read 621 times)

strawbs89

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***
  • 142
background noise
« on: September 07, 2018, 08:55:39 PM »
hi there i have emailed radio.co about this but no reply
i have a problem, now everytime i talk through my bheringer xm8500 mic
i hear background noises now it's connected to my xenyx802 mixer

what am i doing wrong

neutralhills

  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • ****
  • 331
  • Personal Text
    Nil sine labore.
    • squirrel.fm
Re: background noise
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2018, 07:11:06 AM »
Doubtful the problem has anything to do with the software.

What sort of noise? Is your audio echoing back because of latency? Hum? Static?
Squirrel FM : Always playing with our nuts!
www.squirrel.fm
Studio systems running RadioDJ, PlayoutONE, & Rivendell
Flow 8 Deck & PlayIt Cartwall for live mixing and assist.
Remote systems running RadioDJ
Pioneer DDJ-SX control surface.

FreerunMedia

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 790
  • Personal Text
    Proud user of RadioDJ
    • Radio 251 , Gewoon gezellig
Re: background noise
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2018, 03:19:13 PM »
hi there i have emailed radio.co about this but no reply
i have a problem, now everytime i talk through my bheringer xm8500 mic
i hear background noises now it's connected to my xenyx802 mixer

what am i doing wrong

Well i think it's cabling. The microphone is a dynamic microphone and with "cheap' cables, they can pick up 50hz hum. A solution is use more shielded cables and try to find the spot that creates the hum. Most of the times it's a powerline near the microphone or cable that is the problem. Also computers can give a hum but they are much hugher. In that case you can try to go a little further from the computer. Also check the powersupply of the computer. If the computer isn't capable to give enough power to the videocard, it will have an effect on your audio. If this is the case you will hear noise also when RadioDJ is playing through the mixer.

Dynamic microphones are most of the times not that sensitive so when you hear background noise of the fridge or the street, check your audiolevels. The Mic gain should be set at 0db on PFL. When you pull up the fader, the levels should be right.
Running 3 editions V1.8.2 at www.salto.nl and v1.8.2 at radio251.nl. ( NOW with 2 live studio's! )

strawbs89

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***
  • 142
Re: background noise
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2018, 03:34:17 PM »
i have a xenyx802 mixer

FreerunMedia

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 790
  • Personal Text
    Proud user of RadioDJ
    • Radio 251 , Gewoon gezellig
Re: background noise
« Reply #4 on: September 20, 2018, 12:14:23 PM »
Even than, check your cables and connections. Please make also clear what the real problem is because background noise can be anything. To pinpoint the problem, you need to give us a little more info about the "noise" you hear.
Running 3 editions V1.8.2 at www.salto.nl and v1.8.2 at radio251.nl. ( NOW with 2 live studio's! )

strawbs89

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***
  • 142
Re: background noise
« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2018, 05:30:32 PM »
to be honest yes like i say i have a xenyx802 mixer i turn the mic knob round
and all i hear is the tv in the background and my misses talking on the phone

i'v tried other mics and it's still the same now i used to use voice banana but still i get noises coming
from mic when using that 

strawbs89

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***
  • 142
Re: background noise
« Reply #6 on: September 20, 2018, 07:22:32 PM »
so will voice meter banana do it then

strawbs89

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***
  • 142
Re: background noise
« Reply #7 on: September 20, 2018, 11:19:14 PM »
would a Electro Voice RE320 Microphone do the job

FreerunMedia

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 790
  • Personal Text
    Proud user of RadioDJ
    • Radio 251 , Gewoon gezellig
Re: background noise
« Reply #8 on: September 22, 2018, 02:32:18 PM »
would a Electro Voice RE320 Microphone do the job

Well an EV RE320 is a good one so it's a good investment. You still need to be close to the mic and if you hear everything in the background, nothing can remove that other than soundproofing. Try not to pull too much gain on the mic and use the "fader" instead. The RE320 needs a little gain but set it on around +45db or +50db. Set it up to +60db, when the fader is op at 0, you will hear everything, even the bike on the street that rings a bell 2 blocks away.

When you don;t use the mic, turn it down and only when you need it, turn the fader up. If you use soundprocessing with the mic, it will amplify every time i't "hears" something so set your gate at a level that works.
Running 3 editions V1.8.2 at www.salto.nl and v1.8.2 at radio251.nl. ( NOW with 2 live studio's! )

strawbs89

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***
  • 142
Re: background noise
« Reply #9 on: September 22, 2018, 05:45:55 PM »
ok thanks for the advice, urm if i buy soundproof squares would i still hear sound out of the mic
i have at the mo

PROducer

  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • ****
  • 494
  • Personal Text
    Long Time Radio Guy
    • The Rooster
Re: background noise
« Reply #10 on: September 24, 2018, 12:58:54 AM »
Those "squares" are not soundproofing,  they absorb reflections of sound so it doesn't sound like you are broadcasting from a bathroom.  Soundproofing is insulation inside the walls which lowers the amount of sound that travels through them.

If you don't want to pick up "the TV & missus on the phone" then you should put your station in it's own, quiet space.