Author Topic: Sweepers not working  (Read 540 times)

RFU

  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • ****
  • 428
    • Radio Free Ukraine
Sweepers not working
« on: January 05, 2019, 02:48:36 PM »
Version 1.8.2

I created a new sweeper category called Sweepers - Song Intro because some artists have sent me station ID's with a specific song mentioned (i.e. this is Olga Vasiluk and your listening to my song 'not yours' on Radio Free Ukraine)

I imported the subdir with all the song inter sweepers, and designated each sweeper to the specific song it's for in the RadioDJ Track Edit

But, they're not playing.

Shouldn't they automatically play before the song?
Гордий бути українцем, Ми - Радіо Вільної України.

plauri

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 1264
    • Funky Corner Radio
Re: Sweepers not working
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2019, 12:23:31 AM »
You should do as follow: load the sweepers into your Sub Category (I use always the same Daily Sweepers), then after loading into the db your song from Olga Vasiluk, open it and set the intro mark point, save. Then select that track again and go into "Modify Track" --> Sweepers. Now from the drop box on the left, select your Sub Category, you should see the sweeper from Olga saying "Hi this is etc...", double click (or drag it) on that sweeper which will jump on the right side. Now save. (In your case put just one specific sweeper if you want that one to play, because they are chosen at random). Now in your rotation you should have selected "Sweeper on Intro" on all tracks that you want to play with intro over the song. I hope it's clear. 
Funky Corner Radio
http://www.funkycorner.it
http://www.radiofunkycorner.com

RFU

  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • ****
  • 428
    • Radio Free Ukraine
Re: Sweepers not working
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2019, 08:51:40 AM »
ok, as far as I can see, the only thing I didn't do was set the "intro" in the cue editor

In "track edit" i have the specific sweeper set to that song (the sweeper tab)
The cue editor now has "intro" set

Not sure what you mean by "Sweeper on Intro" because no specific songs are specified in the Options >  Tracks Rotation

And the song just played without the sweeper intro. To me, this seems to be a bug. If you're going to specify a specific sweeper file to play with a track, then it should automatically play with that track
Гордий бути українцем, Ми - Радіо Вільної України.

plauri

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 1264
    • Funky Corner Radio
Re: Sweepers not working
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2019, 11:41:39 AM »
ok, as far as I can see, the only thing I didn't do was set the "intro" in the cue editor
Ok, that was fundamental!

Quote
In "track edit" i have the specific sweeper set to that song (the sweeper tab)
The cue editor now has "intro" set
Ok

Quote
Not sure what you mean by "Sweeper on Intro" because no specific songs are specified in the Options >  Tracks Rotation
I mean, when the song plays the sweeper starts and plays over the song "taking" the intro of that song.

Quote
And the song just played without the sweeper intro. To me, this seems to be a bug. If you're going to specify a specific sweeper file to play with a track, then it should automatically play with that track
It's not a bug, it's something wrong you are doing. This is one of the first features I tried when I started about 4 years ago and it has always worked like a charm! By the way, if you drag a song manually (which you know it has sweeper and intro set) did you remember to flag the icon on the right, between the "+" sign and the "previous page"?

ps: once the manual procedure is working, then look into your rotation: I already told you how should be set.     
Funky Corner Radio
http://www.funkycorner.it
http://www.radiofunkycorner.com

RFU

  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • ****
  • 428
    • Radio Free Ukraine
Re: Sweepers not working
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2019, 03:06:28 PM »
My tracks rotation clears and resets every hour when I play the news
I made sure the track had the sweeper set and the intro set and i adjusted the priority so it would play first
it played but there was no sweeper

so if that's not going to work then I'm going to have to edit the affected tracks with audacity and insert the intro
Гордий бути українцем, Ми - Радіо Вільної України.

plauri

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 1264
    • Funky Corner Radio
Re: Sweepers not working
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2019, 06:03:25 PM »
so if that's not going to work then I'm going to have to edit the affected tracks with audacity and insert the intro

Can you describe how you do it? Because I don't understand: do you want to say that you edit the track with the sweeper already inside (build in)? In that case there is no automation...
Funky Corner Radio
http://www.funkycorner.it
http://www.radiofunkycorner.com

RFU

  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • ****
  • 428
    • Radio Free Ukraine
Re: Sweepers not working
« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2019, 08:33:50 PM »
I followed all your directions and it never worked

So I deleted the tracks from my database, edited them in Audacity to include the intros, saved them to a new mp3,  edited the tag files, and imported two versions into RadioDj. One version without the intro, and one version with the intro. And that's what I'm going to do for every intro I have from now on

And, in my opinion, it's either a bug or bad programming. If you add a sweeper to the beginning of a song in the tracks editor, it should play that sweeper, without having to jump through a bunch of other hoops to get it to play
Гордий бути українцем, Ми - Радіо Вільної України.

plauri

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 1264
    • Funky Corner Radio
Re: Sweepers not working
« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2019, 09:05:25 PM »
I'm very sad, because after all my explanations you didn't succeed and you are also convinced there is a bug. I don't remember to have seen posts here about a bug of that kind.
But did you try what I suggested? Does it work?  "if you drag a song manually (which you know it has sweeper and intro set) did you remember to flag the icon on the right, between the "+" sign and the "previous page", does this action function? It's important, if this works your mistake is in the rotation.
Also try some video, there must be explaining how sweepers work.   
Funky Corner Radio
http://www.funkycorner.it
http://www.radiofunkycorner.com

RFU

  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • ****
  • 428
    • Radio Free Ukraine
Re: Sweepers not working
« Reply #8 on: January 07, 2019, 01:40:35 PM »
I tried drag n drop with the "add selected track to playlist with a sweeper" activated

And they played without a sweeper

I also increased the priority so that it automatically added to the rotation

And they played without a sweeper

Maybe it's not a bug, but if it's not, then it's bad programming

If you add a sweeper to a song using "track edit" then it should play with that sweeper without having to do anything else. It's intuitive.

So, from now on I'll have to create a second song file and add the intro using audacity or Adobe audition. Then I'll have two versions in my database. One with an artist intro and one without
Гордий бути українцем, Ми - Радіо Вільної України.

Music Box

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***
  • 116
Re: Sweepers not working
« Reply #9 on: January 07, 2019, 06:14:14 PM »
Hi, I hope I can help you.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lMRzpBApDBw

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=msuRqHv-EdI

I do not know anything else.

Jhonny

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 3500
  • Personal Text
    Peace, enjoy life.it's over before you've lived it
    • Jhonny's RadioDJ tutorials.
Re: Sweepers not working
« Reply #10 on: January 07, 2019, 07:48:30 PM »
assigned sweepers only work in a rotation
R.T.F.M. means to me, Read The Fantastic Messages.
Make things simple, but don't make simple things simpler!
I don't do drugs, I do tuts. ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) visit https://radiodj.info

Testing RadioDJ v2.0.1.6 Beta

plauri

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 1264
    • Funky Corner Radio
Re: Sweepers not working
« Reply #11 on: January 07, 2019, 10:44:23 PM »
Hi, I hope I can help you.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lMRzpBApDBw

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=msuRqHv-EdI

I do not know anything else.

The only thing in those videos which is not necessary is to set sweepers as overlay (I never ever did it and they always played)
Funky Corner Radio
http://www.funkycorner.it
http://www.radiofunkycorner.com

plauri

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 1264
    • Funky Corner Radio
Re: Sweepers not working
« Reply #12 on: January 07, 2019, 10:46:56 PM »
assigned sweepers only work in a rotation

What I wrote several times! And maybe that could be what's wrong with RFU   
Funky Corner Radio
http://www.funkycorner.it
http://www.radiofunkycorner.com

RFU

  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • ****
  • 428
    • Radio Free Ukraine
Re: Sweepers not working
« Reply #13 on: January 10, 2019, 12:39:11 PM »
Then like I said... bad programming

I stick with editing the mp3 files
Гордий бути українцем, Ми - Радіо Вільної України.

plauri

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 1264
    • Funky Corner Radio
Re: Sweepers not working
« Reply #14 on: January 11, 2019, 12:28:50 AM »
Then like I said... bad programming

I stick with editing the mp3 files

What else can I say? This is one of the nicest feature of this program and works to me (and to many others) like a charm. Videos are self explaining, info we gave too. I hope Marius will take a look and say if it's bad programming...
Funky Corner Radio
http://www.funkycorner.it
http://www.radiofunkycorner.com