Author Topic: Using RadioDJ under Parallels: can't start MySQL  (Read 297 times)

crabbier

  • New User

  • Offline
  • *
  • 8
Using RadioDJ under Parallels: can't start MySQL
« on: July 12, 2019, 02:41:16 AM »
Ok, I do have Radio running pretty on a Win7 laptop.  However, from personally, there are several logistic reasons this is problematic, ( am legally blind and a 17-inch screen laptop is a bit tedious for me to operate.  I have successfully installed RadioDJ and MyQSL Community Server in a Win10 environment with Parallels on my iMac.  I cannot get MyQSL to start.  Is this possible, or is it too involved and should I give up?  Thanks for your input!

DJ Garybaldy

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 3814
  • Personal Text
    Never Get Angry At the Stupid People (Erasure)
    • DJ Garybaldy
Re: Using RadioDJ under Parallels: can't start MySQL
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2019, 01:17:50 PM »
Try uninstalling MySQL and try installing MariaDB https://djgarybaldy.co.uk/how-to-uninstall-mysql-from-windows/

this is the link about how to install MariaDb https://djgarybaldy.co.uk/maria-db-radiodj/

Hope that helps
USER of RadioDJ since 2010

https://djgarybaldy.co.uk/maria-db-radiodj/
https://djgarybaldy.co.uk/help-cant-install-radiodj
https://djgarybaldy.co.uk/running-a-database-neednt-be-scary/
https://djgarybaldy.co.uk/using-a-stand-alone-encoder-with-radiodj-neednt-be-difficult

Can't Help Via Pvt Msg

Calypso

  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • ****
  • 420
Re: Using RadioDJ under Parallels: can't start MySQL
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2019, 03:11:36 PM »
Try uninstalling MySQL and try installing MariaDB https://djgarybaldy.co.uk/how-to-uninstall-mysql-from-windows/

this is the link about how to install MariaDb https://djgarybaldy.co.uk/maria-db-radiodj/

Hope that helps

If that doesn't work a solution could be to get a MariaDB version that runs on iOS and use it as a "remote" database for RadioDJ.

DJ Garybaldy

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 3814
  • Personal Text
    Never Get Angry At the Stupid People (Erasure)
    • DJ Garybaldy
Re: Using RadioDJ under Parallels: can't start MySQL
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2019, 04:32:34 PM »
If that doesn't work a solution could be to get a MariaDB version that runs on iOS and use it as a "remote" database for RadioDJ.
Good thinking Batman!

I run RadioDJ in a VM on Linux and have the database on Linux and its rare we have issues. As long as you know the IP of the physical machine on your home network you should be OK to do it that way.
USER of RadioDJ since 2010

https://djgarybaldy.co.uk/maria-db-radiodj/
https://djgarybaldy.co.uk/help-cant-install-radiodj
https://djgarybaldy.co.uk/running-a-database-neednt-be-scary/
https://djgarybaldy.co.uk/using-a-stand-alone-encoder-with-radiodj-neednt-be-difficult

Can't Help Via Pvt Msg

neutralhills

  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • ****
  • 344
  • Personal Text
    Nil sine labore.
    • squirrel.fm
Re: Using RadioDJ under Parallels: can't start MySQL
« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2019, 11:32:06 PM »
I moved my MariaDB server to a Raspberry Pi 3 running Raspian as a bit of a lark. The bugger of it is that it works so well I kind of forgot about it and left it there! Darn thing just keeps chugging away and I don't have to worry about it.  ;D
Squirrel FM : Always playing with our nuts!
www.squirrel.fm
Studio systems running RadioDJ & Rivendell (occasional only)
Flow 8 Deck & PlayIt Cartwall for live mixing and assist.
Remote systems running RadioDJ
Pioneer DDJ-SX control surface.

Calypso

  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • ****
  • 420
Re: Using RadioDJ under Parallels: can't start MySQL
« Reply #5 on: July 14, 2019, 12:18:12 PM »
I moved my MariaDB server to a Raspberry Pi 3 running Raspian as a bit of a lark. The bugger of it is that it works so well I kind of forgot about it and left it there! Darn thing just keeps chugging away and I don't have to worry about it.  ;D

If it's working for you, then OK. But please note that a RPi (even a v3) is sometimes performance limited, especially when it comes to i/o to the SD card. If you have the database on a USB disk, that also has performance issues; USB3 is better but only available on RPi v4.

Also keep in mind that the RPi is known of corrupted SDCards regularly (especially with loss of power), so make backups regularly on another computer ;-)

neutralhills

  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • ****
  • 344
  • Personal Text
    Nil sine labore.
    • squirrel.fm
Re: Using RadioDJ under Parallels: can't start MySQL
« Reply #6 on: July 14, 2019, 11:25:33 PM »
Backups twice per day. Moving it back to a Linux system in a week or so.
Squirrel FM : Always playing with our nuts!
www.squirrel.fm
Studio systems running RadioDJ & Rivendell (occasional only)
Flow 8 Deck & PlayIt Cartwall for live mixing and assist.
Remote systems running RadioDJ
Pioneer DDJ-SX control surface.

DJ Garybaldy

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 3814
  • Personal Text
    Never Get Angry At the Stupid People (Erasure)
    • DJ Garybaldy
Re: Using RadioDJ under Parallels: can't start MySQL
« Reply #7 on: July 18, 2019, 05:12:58 PM »
While I normally have very few issues running the Database on Linux/Ubuntu studio, However there's a cautionary tale

Our router started trying to reset DHCP settings and tried to assign an IP twice (We still don't know how it happened) then it started causing other issues.

We're now awaiting a new router from our ISP and I'm having to run with a new instance of MariaDB on the same Windows 10 machine for the time being.

Yes it perfectly possible to run it on Linux just there could be unforeseen reasons why it might go tits up and routers have a nasty habit of being pains in the butt.
USER of RadioDJ since 2010

https://djgarybaldy.co.uk/maria-db-radiodj/
https://djgarybaldy.co.uk/help-cant-install-radiodj
https://djgarybaldy.co.uk/running-a-database-neednt-be-scary/
https://djgarybaldy.co.uk/using-a-stand-alone-encoder-with-radiodj-neednt-be-difficult

Can't Help Via Pvt Msg

Calypso

  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • ****
  • 420
Re: Using RadioDJ under Parallels: can't start MySQL
« Reply #8 on: July 19, 2019, 02:31:15 PM »
While I normally have very few issues running the Database on Linux/Ubuntu studio, However there's a cautionary tale

Our router started trying to reset DHCP settings and tried to assign an IP twice (We still don't know how it happened) then it started causing other issues.

We're now awaiting a new router from our ISP and I'm having to run with a new instance of MariaDB on the same Windows 10 machine for the time being.

Yes it perfectly possible to run it on Linux just there could be unforeseen reasons why it might go tits up and routers have a nasty habit of being pains in the butt.

If you use a Linux database, always put it on a server version, i.e. Ubuntu LTS, Debian, etc. And treat the installation as a server, so static IP address outside of the range where DHCP leases are available. That way you won't get into trouble with unwilling DHCP servers, except ofcourse, if your playout system is DHCP and no addresses are given out  :bash:

DJ Garybaldy

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 3814
  • Personal Text
    Never Get Angry At the Stupid People (Erasure)
    • DJ Garybaldy
Re: Using RadioDJ under Parallels: can't start MySQL
« Reply #9 on: July 19, 2019, 05:06:21 PM »
UbuntuStudio LTS (18.04) has been my flavour of Linux for at least 5/6 years now (can't remember when I stopped using Windows as my OS)  its the first time we've had an issue new router is hopefully being fitted next week. My Ubuntu machine runs MariaDB.

Today its playing away nicely on the Windows install of MariaDB Its always good to make sure you have a backup option for when times/problems like this happen. The router is about 7 years old so were due a new one.
USER of RadioDJ since 2010

https://djgarybaldy.co.uk/maria-db-radiodj/
https://djgarybaldy.co.uk/help-cant-install-radiodj
https://djgarybaldy.co.uk/running-a-database-neednt-be-scary/
https://djgarybaldy.co.uk/using-a-stand-alone-encoder-with-radiodj-neednt-be-difficult

Can't Help Via Pvt Msg