Author Topic: Encoder Plugin in C Sharp TEST  (Read 7115 times)

SnowHow

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 911
  • Personal Text
    A-1 Radio - The Variety Channel
    • A-1 Radio - The Variety Channel
Encoder Plugin in C Sharp TEST
« on: March 18, 2013, 07:38:12 AM »
This is a rewrite of the encoder into C Sharp. The intent is to use less CPU and have better control over stopping and starting the encoders. It's working really well in testing, now I need others to test it out.

I'm mainly looking for two things:
1) Does it seem to use less CPU on your system, and
2) Does it seem as though it's more responsive (better control)

Unzip the file to a place it where you can get to it easily (desktop), then open Explorer and browse to your RDJ directory. Rename Plugin_Encoder.dll to Plugin_Encoder.bak and place the new file in the RDJ's folder and restart RDJ. The new dll will pick up all your settings and be ready to go.

If this works out, I have found a way to add some features (finally) that I found that are in C Sharp, mainly to do with controlling individual encoders so that you don't have to stop all of them at once.

Try it out, let me know how it goes, and thanks for your help!  :)

J-


Vanlen

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 1166
    • Music for your senses
Re: Encoder Plugin in C Sharp TEST
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2013, 12:51:01 PM »
Thanks for the update Snowhow.  I'll try it overnight.   FYI - I reinstalled the main pkg and replaced the pluginencoder.dll on my test box and it loaded instantly with no lag as it did in the past :cool:   Where do I enter the now_playing info or is it already internally picking that up?

Cheers


Forest Green - Music in Nature's Frequency
www.forestgreenradio.ca

SnowHow

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 911
  • Personal Text
    A-1 Radio - The Variety Channel
    • A-1 Radio - The Variety Channel
Re: Encoder Plugin in C Sharp TEST
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2013, 03:25:14 PM »
It automatically picks up the metadatajust like the original one.

Thanks for your help!  :ok:

J-


DJ Garybaldy

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 4382
  • Personal Text
    Don't Shoot! I'm only the Moderator
    • DJ Garybaldy Blog
Re: Encoder Plugin in C Sharp TEST
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2013, 04:07:57 PM »
Been testing just over 2 hours here everything seems to be working rather well not noticed any major spikes in CPU
Retired Radio DJ & Proud USER of RadioDJ since 2010

https://djgarybaldy.blogspot.com

How to Install RadioDJ: https://djgarybaldy.blogspot.com/2020/08/how-to-install-radiodj-free-radio.html

Think of RadioDJ as the Swiss Army Knife of radio playout software

bugBoy10

  • New User

  • Offline
  • *
  • 40
Re: Encoder Plugin in C Sharp TEST
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2013, 05:43:34 PM »
Same here!!http://www.radiodj.ro/community/Smileys/LightB/cheesy.gif

Marius

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 5689
    • Radio DJ
Re: Encoder Plugin in C Sharp TEST
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2013, 10:18:01 AM »
Wow, what a great feedback. I'm seriously thinking to migrate the whole program to c#.
For now i may start with the plugins.
DOWNLOADS PAGE

HOW TO FIX RADIODJ DATABASE
----------------
Please don't PM me for support requests. Use the forums instead.

Vanlen

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 1166
    • Music for your senses
Re: Encoder Plugin in C Sharp TEST
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2013, 11:55:59 AM »
Ran overnight on the test box with no spikes and running just fine.    Is there a log file, as in seeing disconnects and drop outs over time if any?

Great job :cool:
Forest Green - Music in Nature's Frequency
www.forestgreenradio.ca

704djs

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 928
  • Personal Text
    704djs We break records like Dj's suppose
    • Hot 107.9 fm
Re: Encoder Plugin in C Sharp TEST
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2013, 03:43:36 PM »
Ran it with 5 encoder ran smooth over night ran 2 encoder at 256 ran another one @ 320 and 2 at 128
Beat 94.7/Hot 107.9  fm banging the hitz that you wanna hear.

SnowHow

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 911
  • Personal Text
    A-1 Radio - The Variety Channel
    • A-1 Radio - The Variety Channel
Re: Encoder Plugin in C Sharp TEST
« Reply #8 on: March 20, 2013, 12:22:38 AM »
WOW! I agree with Marius, this is great feedback.  :)

This is just a test piece. Now that I know I have some solid code to work from, I'll concentrate on getting features added in.

Thanks everyone!  ;D


marklevinfan

  • Guest
Re: Encoder Plugin in C Sharp TEST
« Reply #9 on: March 20, 2013, 01:53:13 AM »
Still going strong. It has been 3 days now and happy happy! :)

704djs

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 928
  • Personal Text
    704djs We break records like Dj's suppose
    • Hot 107.9 fm
Re: Encoder Plugin in C Sharp TEST
« Reply #10 on: March 20, 2013, 03:52:39 PM »
 5 encoder running smooth 3 days later
Beat 94.7/Hot 107.9  fm banging the hitz that you wanna hear.

marklevinfan

  • Guest
Re: Encoder Plugin in C Sharp TEST
« Reply #11 on: March 20, 2013, 07:42:36 PM »
OK noticed one problem with a fresh install of RadioDJ and the encoder. When I start RadioDJ everything loads fine, however, this plugin is loaded to where it is like a sliver on the screen and I have to drag it up like an excel cell to make it visible. Not sure what is going on but I had the original install on and then replaced. It does this on every start up. I am just trying it on a newer machine that is faster and a bit more nicer.

SnowHow

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 911
  • Personal Text
    A-1 Radio - The Variety Channel
    • A-1 Radio - The Variety Channel
Re: Encoder Plugin in C Sharp TEST
« Reply #12 on: March 20, 2013, 08:49:17 PM »
OK noticed one problem with a fresh install of RadioDJ and the encoder. When I start RadioDJ everything loads fine, however, this plugin is loaded to where it is like a sliver on the screen and I have to drag it up like an excel cell to make it visible. Not sure what is going on but I had the original install on and then replaced. It does this on every start up. I am just trying it on a newer machine that is faster and a bit more nicer.

This is a zone 4 bug in the main RadioDJ program. It's in the bug tracker.

J-


marklevinfan

  • Guest
Re: Encoder Plugin in C Sharp TEST
« Reply #13 on: March 20, 2013, 08:55:36 PM »
OK so does this mean I move it to another zone?

SnowHow

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 911
  • Personal Text
    A-1 Radio - The Variety Channel
    • A-1 Radio - The Variety Channel
Re: Encoder Plugin in C Sharp TEST
« Reply #14 on: March 20, 2013, 09:01:56 PM »
OK so does this mean I move it to another zone?

I recommend zone 2 until it's fixed. :)

J-