Author Topic: Very basic - getting started  (Read 1823 times)

apdc

• New User

• AthensPop.com
Very basic - getting started
« on: July 30, 2014, 08:56:12 PM »
Hi All,

I recently downloaded the latest version of RadioDJ. I have never used the software before, so bear with me.

I followed the tutorial here: http://www.radiodj.ro/tutorials/how-to-install-mysql-server.html. Note that I am a first-time user, so I apologize if this seems like a first-grade question. I proceeded to download MySQL for a 64-bit Windows 7 OS. This is the part where I got lost. The tutorial says to "run the installer," and the video shows the installer already open. However, I'm not sure where to find said installer or even where to begin.

If anyone could possibly provide some assistance it'd be much appreciated.

Thanks,
Jesse

AndyDeGroo

Re: Very basic - getting started
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2014, 07:47:41 AM »
Hi, Jess and welcome to RadioDJ community.

It is most likely that "the installer" is the file you downloaded from MySLQ website, unless you downloaded a zip file. If it's the zip, go back and download MySQL Installer MSI, unless you want to do the setup manually.

apdc

• New User

• AthensPop.com
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2014, 03:51:24 PM »
Hi Andy,

Thank you so much for your reply. Unfortunately I'm still a little lost. I downloaded the installer version but when I opened the installer, the options were not the same as in the tutorial. I was given the options of how to install the server, but the options were not the same as in the tutorial. It seems as if I have a different version than what the tutorial explained. I installed the whole package, and afterward I was unsure of what to do, as the tutorial says to enter the root password, etc., and the installer never asked for anything like that. All that exists is a folder in my program files with two command prompt shortcuts.