Author Topic: RDJ Audio Compressor Default Setting  (Read 10330 times)

Datong

  • New User

  • Offline
  • *
  • 3
RDJ Audio Compressor Default Setting
« on: April 30, 2015, 06:46:56 PM »
Hi Folks,
My first post on the forum. Recently moved from SAM...... Radio DJ  is working perfectly, so happy I made the move. Congrats and many thanks to Marius and everyone involved.
My question concerns the Compressor located in the Audio processing plugin. I've tried most settings and have settled on the "default" position, it works great for me.
Whilst retaining the overall default settings I would like to be able to adjust the threshold slightly.....
Is it possible for anyone to please post the The Attack, Ratio, Threshold, Gain and Release positions for the default setting. As I can then start from that position and just adjust the Threshold as required.
Many thanks
Datong

Jhonny

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 4183
  • Personal Text
    Peace, enjoy life, last sleep is longer than live!
Re: RDJ Audio Compressor Default Setting
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2015, 08:09:57 PM »
Welcom Datong,

There are topic's for adjusting the gain of your tracks like using mp3gain.

The tresholds can bi adjust with the que editor for a track or tracks.
R.T.F.M. means to me, Read The Fantastic Messages.
Einstein says: Make things simple, but don't make simple things simpler! (wise) this is just my life lesson you know.

I don't do drugs ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Datong

  • New User

  • Offline
  • *
  • 3
Re: RDJ Audio Compressor Default Setting
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2015, 04:49:48 PM »
Hi Jhonny
Thanks for the reply.
I'm not sure if this is what I am looking for but will use your pointers and see if I can progress in that direction.
Many thanks again
Datong

DJ Garybaldy

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 4927
  • Personal Text
    Don't Shoot! I'm only the Moderator
    • DJ Garybaldy Blog
Re: RDJ Audio Compressor Default Setting
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2015, 05:17:27 PM »
Give these settings a try.



If it still doesn't sound right tweak until you are happy with your sound.
Worlds Biggest Fan of RadioDJ

RadioDJ is my FAVOURITE piece of radio playout software EVER

https://djgarybaldy.blogspot.com/search?q=radiodj

Install RadioDJ: https://djgarybaldy.blogspot.com/2020/08/how-to-install-radiodj-free-radio.html

paypal.me/djgarybaldy

Chaos Radio!

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***
  • 153
Re: RDJ Audio Compressor Default Setting
« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2015, 05:42:31 PM »
Give these settings a try.



If it still doesn't sound right tweak until you are happy with your sound.

Gary tell them about the Octmax plugin, since you showed me that my stream has never sounded better!
Chaos Radio! - True Punk Radio for True Punk Rockers!
Over 100,000 songs in the music vault from all over the globe! Proud RadioDJ user since 2014.

https://chaosradio.info

DJ Garybaldy

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 4927
  • Personal Text
    Don't Shoot! I'm only the Moderator
    • DJ Garybaldy Blog
Re: RDJ Audio Compressor Default Setting
« Reply #5 on: May 01, 2015, 05:46:18 PM »
Quote
Gary tell them about the Octimax plugin

I've stopped using octimax as I appear to be getting really good results with the above settings .... Sounds great through our new sound system.

If he wants to try the Octimax DSP the tutorial is here. http://djgarybaldy.co.uk/octimax-dsp-plugin/
Worlds Biggest Fan of RadioDJ

RadioDJ is my FAVOURITE piece of radio playout software EVER

https://djgarybaldy.blogspot.com/search?q=radiodj

Install RadioDJ: https://djgarybaldy.blogspot.com/2020/08/how-to-install-radiodj-free-radio.html

paypal.me/djgarybaldy

Datong

  • New User

  • Offline
  • *
  • 3
Re: RDJ Audio Compressor Default Setting
« Reply #6 on: May 03, 2015, 04:33:16 PM »
Just logged in again'
Hi Gary and Chaos, many thanks for the replies, images and details. Will try those settings later tonight and see how I get on. Very happy with what I am getting on the default setting, it was just thumping a shade too much, only a tad mind you! that bit of thump can be nice also! So I just reduced the bottom end a little and it seems to have done the trick (to my uneducated ear) :-\
Almost afraid to touch it now... best well left alone and all that.
I saw your post a few days ago related to the Octimax plugin and I did try it. It all installed fine and yes worked very well but I felt it was a little overly processed or condensed (hard to describe), I also had a few issues trying to keep the keep the top end in order so I reverted back to the default and adjusted the Eq somewhat.
Very rural location here for this station and still have some broadband issues to solve but its getting there, fingers crossed.
Overall very very happy with RDJ and the sound right now.
Many thanks once again
Datong


[attachment deleted by admin]

exit fm

  • New User

  • Offline
  • *
  • 19
    • EXIT FM - Nonstop Hits!
Re: RDJ Audio Compressor Default Setting
« Reply #7 on: May 03, 2015, 06:00:31 PM »
tnx Gary real good settings :cool:
shutdown breakaway.

plauri

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 1573
    • Funky Corner Radio
Re: RDJ Audio Compressor Default Setting
« Reply #8 on: May 03, 2015, 06:31:20 PM »
Give these settings a try.



If it still doesn't sound right tweak until you are happy with your sound.
Hi Gary,
but you really do have set the volume at 70?  ??? I have it at 45 (with breakaway) and I'm really satisfied
Funky Corner Radio
http://www.funkycorner.radio
https://www.funkycorner.it
http://www.radiofunkycorner.com

DJ Garybaldy

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 4927
  • Personal Text
    Don't Shoot! I'm only the Moderator
    • DJ Garybaldy Blog
Re: RDJ Audio Compressor Default Setting
« Reply #9 on: May 04, 2015, 02:27:31 PM »
Quote
Hi Gary, but you really do have set the volume at 70?

Yep that's where I have my volume set no distortion just great sounding audio

I think it sounds OK, All the tracks are volume levelled No other sound processing just RDJ
Worlds Biggest Fan of RadioDJ

RadioDJ is my FAVOURITE piece of radio playout software EVER

https://djgarybaldy.blogspot.com/search?q=radiodj

Install RadioDJ: https://djgarybaldy.blogspot.com/2020/08/how-to-install-radiodj-free-radio.html

paypal.me/djgarybaldy

Vanlen

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 1264
    • Music for your senses
Re: RDJ Audio Compressor Default Setting
« Reply #10 on: May 04, 2015, 03:50:39 PM »
Sounds mighty fine DJ Gary.  Question?  Why 22 instead of 44.1, it sounds like you've found the sweet spot.

Cheers
Forest Green - Music in Nature's Frequency
www.forestgreenradio.ca

DJ Garybaldy

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 4927
  • Personal Text
    Don't Shoot! I'm only the Moderator
    • DJ Garybaldy Blog
Re: RDJ Audio Compressor Default Setting
« Reply #11 on: May 04, 2015, 04:03:22 PM »
Sounds mighty fine DJ Gary.  Question?  Why 22 instead of 44.1, it sounds like you've found the sweet spot.

Cheers

I think it's something to do with my ears if I stream at 44100 I keep hearing a popping noise and The letter S in lyrics ends up sounding like "Schhhh"..... (Or is that just me being as deaf as a post) 

Either i'm quite happy with everything from the sound to the stability...... IF only RadioDJ had been around 13 years ago!!!
Worlds Biggest Fan of RadioDJ

RadioDJ is my FAVOURITE piece of radio playout software EVER

https://djgarybaldy.blogspot.com/search?q=radiodj

Install RadioDJ: https://djgarybaldy.blogspot.com/2020/08/how-to-install-radiodj-free-radio.html

paypal.me/djgarybaldy

Echers

  • Jr. Member

  • Offline
  • **
  • 76
Re: RDJ Audio Compressor Default Setting
« Reply #12 on: May 04, 2015, 04:15:29 PM »
Give these settings a try.



If it still doesn't sound right tweak until you are happy with your sound.

This works for me, however if I boost my lvl to 70 it distorts (I do however play EDM which oftens is boosted more). Therefore I have mine at 40, but besides that, great settings :).

Chaos Radio!

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***
  • 153
Re: RDJ Audio Compressor Default Setting
« Reply #13 on: May 04, 2015, 04:17:31 PM »
The only thing I do a little different than Gary is I add a soft Automatic Gain Control and Volume is set at 60.

Most of my library of music (50,000 song) is varying in volume and sources, I have found that using the Octomax on General setting and the attached setting works good with a library of non-volume controlled songs.

But punk music is suppose to sound a little rough anyway....  :D
Chaos Radio! - True Punk Radio for True Punk Rockers!
Over 100,000 songs in the music vault from all over the globe! Proud RadioDJ user since 2014.

https://chaosradio.info

plauri

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 1573
    • Funky Corner Radio
Re: RDJ Audio Compressor Default Setting
« Reply #14 on: May 04, 2015, 10:35:05 PM »
Yep that's where I have my volume set no distortion just great sounding audio

I think it sounds OK, All the tracks are volume levelled No other sound processing just RDJ

Yes, great sound indeed. But sometimes when the song is fading you hear the fading too much. I mean with breakaway you have the volume always pumped to the maximum and I like it. It's just my opinion (I'm a bit deaf too  :D, all these years with headphones over my head... doesn't help). Anyway you did a very good work!  :ok: 
Funky Corner Radio
http://www.funkycorner.radio
https://www.funkycorner.it
http://www.radiofunkycorner.com