Author Topic: Sweepers - What Am I Doing Wrong Here?  (Read 7103 times)

djMot

  • Jr. Member

  • Offline
  • **
  • 51
    • Girls Rock Radio
Sweepers - What Am I Doing Wrong Here?
« on: August 30, 2016, 05:00:12 AM »
I have a "New Music" music category, and I have a Sweeper category called "My New Single."  Many of the New Music tracks have an associated My New Single sweeper.  The image shows how this is setup for one of the New Music tracks.  But the sweepers never play.  Checking the listing of My New Single sweepers in the Track Manager confirms this - all Count Played numbers are 0.  The New Music tracks are playing just fine, but the fact that they have an active sweeper seems to be completely ignored.

A new music spot occurs a couple of times an hour, and a New Music track is injected into the rotation (top) by a Load Track From Category Event.

What am I doing wrong here?

btw - this is 1.8.2, but everything was set up in 1.8.1 a while back, so this isn't exactly new.


Women Artists on Internet Radio:
Girls Rock Radio - http://www.girlsrockradio.com
and
Country Girl Radio - http://www.countrygirlradio.com

Jhonny

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 4183
  • Personal Text
    Peace, enjoy life, last sleep is longer than live!
Re: Sweepers - What Am I Doing Wrong Here?
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2016, 09:50:22 AM »
Have you set the intro quepoint in the New Music tracks?

If a track is played with or without a sweeper is set ONLY in your rotation entries.
In each entry from your rotation you have a sweeper option (without one, on start, on intro, on end).

Now let's say that you set your first entry to play with a sweeper and the program will generate the playlist.
When the first track is selected, because is set to play with a sweeper, it will first check if it has a assigned sweepers. If it does, it will choose one from there, if not, it will choose one from the active sweeper category.

So assigned sweepers are used in a rotation.
R.T.F.M. means to me, Read The Fantastic Messages.
Einstein says: Make things simple, but don't make simple things simpler! (wise) this is just my life lesson you know.

I don't do drugs ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

djMot

  • Jr. Member

  • Offline
  • **
  • 51
    • Girls Rock Radio
Re: Sweepers - What Am I Doing Wrong Here?
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2016, 01:43:36 AM »
The only queue points that are set are the ones assigned upon importing the tracks.

I think what you are saying is that sweepers only work in a rotation, and not from an event.  Is that correct?

I need to play a new music track at :10 and at :40 past the hour.  If it has an assigned sweeper, I need it to play that sweeper.  How do I accomplish this?
Women Artists on Internet Radio:
Girls Rock Radio - http://www.girlsrockradio.com
and
Country Girl Radio - http://www.countrygirlradio.com

Jhonny

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 4183
  • Personal Text
    Peace, enjoy life, last sleep is longer than live!
Re: Sweepers - What Am I Doing Wrong Here?
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2016, 04:43:09 AM »
Making a special rotation and 2 events 1 for :10 and 1 for :40

the rotation is 1 line with sweeper on start from subcat new music treaks.

event is

disable autodj
clear play list
load special rotation
enable autodj
wait 3 sec.
load normal rotation
R.T.F.M. means to me, Read The Fantastic Messages.
Einstein says: Make things simple, but don't make simple things simpler! (wise) this is just my life lesson you know.

I don't do drugs ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Jhonny

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 4183
  • Personal Text
    Peace, enjoy life, last sleep is longer than live!
Re: Sweepers - What Am I Doing Wrong Here?
« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2016, 05:09:52 AM »
it should also work with SQL Run 1.0
Using UPDATE Playlist from a .sql file. (newmusictracks.sql)

How the file should look like, I do not know. Maybe someone else knows.
(update playlist with track and assigned  sweeper from subcat new music tracks in top playlist)


R.T.F.M. means to me, Read The Fantastic Messages.
Einstein says: Make things simple, but don't make simple things simpler! (wise) this is just my life lesson you know.

I don't do drugs ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Valdis

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 562
  • Personal Text
    Radio is a mental condition
    • home
Re: Sweepers - What Am I Doing Wrong Here?
« Reply #5 on: August 31, 2016, 06:41:30 AM »
it should also work with SQL Run 1.0
Using UPDATE Playlist from a .sql file. (newmusictracks.sql)

How the file should look like, I do not know. Maybe someone else knows.
(update playlist with track and assigned  sweeper from subcat new music tracks in top playlist)
That will not work as you expect. RadioDJ does NOT read queuelist table contents from database to display the main playlist.
I am, therefore I think.
I design and develop web apps, and have created few RadioDJ plugins - https://axellence.lv/downloads/

djMot

  • Jr. Member

  • Offline
  • **
  • 51
    • Girls Rock Radio
Re: Sweepers - What Am I Doing Wrong Here?
« Reply #6 on: August 31, 2016, 01:07:05 PM »
Making a special rotation and 2 events 1 for :10 and 1 for :40

the rotation is 1 line with sweeper on start from subcat new music treaks.

event is

disable autodj
clear play list
load special rotation
enable autodj
wait 3 sec.
load normal rotation

That's an interesting solution.  Thank you!  I'll play with that over the weekend.

Unfortunately, I cannot Remote Desktop into my broadcast computer because it causes my butt encoders to fail, so this will not be easy to get do.  Not as easy as sitting at my desk here like I usually would.  I'm probably going to have to see if TeamViewer will work instead.  It's going to be a weekend of experimenting.

I'll let you know if it worked.  Thanks again Jhonny.
Women Artists on Internet Radio:
Girls Rock Radio - http://www.girlsrockradio.com
and
Country Girl Radio - http://www.countrygirlradio.com

DJ Garybaldy

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 4927
  • Personal Text
    Don't Shoot! I'm only the Moderator
    • DJ Garybaldy Blog
Re: Sweepers - What Am I Doing Wrong Here?
« Reply #7 on: August 31, 2016, 02:03:50 PM »
Quote
Unfortunately, I cannot Remote Desktop into my broadcast computer because it causes my butt encoders to fail,

Does this happen if you try a remote desktop program such as VNC? We use Ultra VNC to remote onto our W10 box and it doesn't affect anything. RadioDJ and the encoding program work as usual.

If BUTT is disconnecting when you log onto a remote desktop try another encoding program It may be a limit of BUTT
Worlds Biggest Fan of RadioDJ

RadioDJ is my FAVOURITE piece of radio playout software EVER

https://djgarybaldy.blogspot.com/search?q=radiodj

Install RadioDJ: https://djgarybaldy.blogspot.com/2020/08/how-to-install-radiodj-free-radio.html

paypal.me/djgarybaldy

djMot

  • Jr. Member

  • Offline
  • **
  • 51
    • Girls Rock Radio
Re: Sweepers - What Am I Doing Wrong Here?
« Reply #8 on: September 05, 2016, 01:46:47 AM »
Does this happen if you try a remote desktop program such as VNC? We use Ultra VNC to remote onto our W10 box and it doesn't affect anything. RadioDJ and the encoding program work as usual.

If BUTT is disconnecting when you log onto a remote desktop try another encoding program It may be a limit of BUTT

Tried UltraVNC, but it was a no-go.  Everything in the displayed huge and there were no scroll bars to even get to parts of the screen that were outside the borders of the window.  Crashed a lot, too.  Falling back on TeamViewer.

I have considered moving over to RadioCaster if butt continues to give me problems.  Right now, it's not so much a problem as it is an inconvenience.

Women Artists on Internet Radio:
Girls Rock Radio - http://www.girlsrockradio.com
and
Country Girl Radio - http://www.countrygirlradio.com

djMot

  • Jr. Member

  • Offline
  • **
  • 51
    • Girls Rock Radio
Re: Sweepers - What Am I Doing Wrong Here?
« Reply #9 on: September 05, 2016, 01:54:00 AM »
Making a special rotation and 2 events 1 for :10 and 1 for :40

the rotation is 1 line with sweeper on start from subcat new music treaks.

event is

disable autodj
clear play list
load special rotation
enable autodj
wait 3 sec.
load normal rotation

So close Jhonny !!!

It basically works, and it's clearly indicating it's going to play the associated sweeper, but when the track comes up to play, the name of the sweeper appears in red along side the VU bar graphs above the rotation list, and it doesn't play.  It's as if it doesn't find the sweeper mp3 file?  The New Music sweepers are in a sweeper category called "My New Single" but there is no way to tell the main track, or the rotation to pull from that category of sweepers.  I assumed that, because the sweeper was explicitly assigned to the track, that it shouldn't matter what category it's in. 

Am I missing something here?

Do Sweepers assigned to a track not work?

Also - when the next New Music spot came around a half hour later, a new track that does not have a sweeper assigned was selected.  When the track loaded, it tried to pull a sweeper from another category altogether.  ???  (Which didn't play either, btw.)


The New Music rotation looks like this:



And the New Music event looks like this:

Women Artists on Internet Radio:
Girls Rock Radio - http://www.girlsrockradio.com
and
Country Girl Radio - http://www.countrygirlradio.com

djMot

  • Jr. Member

  • Offline
  • **
  • 51
    • Girls Rock Radio
Re: Sweepers - What Am I Doing Wrong Here?
« Reply #10 on: October 03, 2016, 01:22:28 PM »
I hate to "bump" a post, but I never got an answer on this issue.  Is this a broken feature in RadioDJ?  I cannot get sweepers assigned to a song to play.  Why not? 
What are the technical prerequisites? 
How does this work?

Thank you.
Women Artists on Internet Radio:
Girls Rock Radio - http://www.girlsrockradio.com
and
Country Girl Radio - http://www.countrygirlradio.com

Jhonny

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 4183
  • Personal Text
    Peace, enjoy life, last sleep is longer than live!
Re: Sweepers - What Am I Doing Wrong Here?
« Reply #11 on: October 03, 2016, 02:25:48 PM »
Assigned sweepers will only play in a rotation, when in the rotation line is set play whit sweeper.
R.T.F.M. means to me, Read The Fantastic Messages.
Einstein says: Make things simple, but don't make simple things simpler! (wise) this is just my life lesson you know.

I don't do drugs ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

djMot

  • Jr. Member

  • Offline
  • **
  • 51
    • Girls Rock Radio
Re: Sweepers - What Am I Doing Wrong Here?
« Reply #12 on: October 03, 2016, 03:51:02 PM »
As I mentioned 3 posts up, that is not working.  Can anyone tell me what is wrong?
Women Artists on Internet Radio:
Girls Rock Radio - http://www.girlsrockradio.com
and
Country Girl Radio - http://www.countrygirlradio.com

DJ Garybaldy

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 4927
  • Personal Text
    Don't Shoot! I'm only the Moderator
    • DJ Garybaldy Blog
Re: Sweepers - What Am I Doing Wrong Here?
« Reply #13 on: October 03, 2016, 03:56:57 PM »
As I mentioned 3 posts up, that is not working.  Can anyone tell me what is wrong?

Sounds like something Marius will have to take a look at you might need to allow him access to your PC via Teamviewer
Worlds Biggest Fan of RadioDJ

RadioDJ is my FAVOURITE piece of radio playout software EVER

https://djgarybaldy.blogspot.com/search?q=radiodj

Install RadioDJ: https://djgarybaldy.blogspot.com/2020/08/how-to-install-radiodj-free-radio.html

paypal.me/djgarybaldy

Jhonny

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****
  • 4183
  • Personal Text
    Peace, enjoy life, last sleep is longer than live!
Re: Sweepers - What Am I Doing Wrong Here?
« Reply #14 on: October 03, 2016, 04:36:52 PM »
I do not understand what is going wrong.

My test.

I start c:\RadioDJempty\Setup\Database Setup.exe.

Made a new database whit the name djmot.

Imported 3 tracks.
imported day sweepers and night sweepers.
Opened track editor and set on one file a night sweeper (the track que points are only start, next and end)

In a rotation (default category) only one line whit sweeper on start.

In the main screen the sweepers are daily.

Set rdj on autodj.
One track shows up whit a daily sweeper, i hit play.
Next in the playlist is the track whit the assigned sweeper from the night sweepers.

It just work as i expected.


it's a mystery to me why it does not work for you.


   
R.T.F.M. means to me, Read The Fantastic Messages.
Einstein says: Make things simple, but don't make simple things simpler! (wise) this is just my life lesson you know.

I don't do drugs ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)