• Welcome to RadioDJ - Free Radio Automation Software Forum. Please log in or sign up.

How can I achieve almost FM quality sound via shoutcast

Started by mitchrapp, February 13, 2024, 07:17:54 AM

mitchrapp

Hi all it's been awhile since last. I am a total noob in audio processing and want to achieve a better, almost FM-quality sound with my streaming setup.  I know it's achievable; where I stream five sets a week, the host/presenter who followed me, his setup wasn't too much different, but his sound quality was noticeably better. We did talk about gear a little, but he wasn't keen on giving up all his secrets; sadly, he died of COVID before we had that discussion.  His sound was deeper and more dynamic, with great clarity.

My setup,
I5 Gen 12 3.7-4.9ghz,32 gig ram, 1TB SSD, +2 other 1tb drives
Radio DJ
Digital Mixer - Voicemeeter Banana
no name encoder
Shoutcast 128 kbps, 44.1 kHz (AAC and AAC+ are not an option where I work)
Mic Dynamic Sam mic

I'm interested first is software enhancements that I can achieve, especially since I have a low budget.  Next would be hardware considerations.  Note that there has to be a noticeable sound quality difference. (not just loudness) to be worth the effort.

Right now I'm looking at Stereo Tool VST plugin,    Any comments if you have tried Stereo Tool would be appreciated.

Thank you, in advance if you have ideas or suggestions
RadioDJ 2017, Multiple Live On Air Personality gigs each week.

mitchrapp

WoW, all the advice, lol  or not...  

Ok so I am trying the free version of Stereo Tool, and I switched encoders to SE Caster.  I been wanting to get away from the no name encoder, but it runs and runs without any problems and uses so few resources. But the main reason I am trying SE Caster is DSP for Stereo Tool, I haven't set that up yet, I am trying the standalone version of ST.